This section provides information and key documents related to ASEAN-China Free Trade Agreement (ACFTA).

(Photo: ABS-CBN)

The Framework Agreement on Comprehensive Economic Cooperation was signed in November 2002 to establish the ASEAN-China Free Trade Agreement (ACFTA). The ACFTA was realised on 1 January 2010 and took full effect on 1 January 2015. In line with the mandate given by the Leaders to upgrade the ACFTA, the “Protocol to Amend the Framework Agreement on Comprehensive Economic Co-operation and Certain Agreements thereunder between ASEAN and the People’s Republic of China” (ACFTA Upgrade Protocol) was signed on 21 November 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, at the sidelines of the 27th ASEAN Summit and Related Summits. The Protocol, which entered into force on 1 July 2016, is expected to bring ASEAN and China closer to realising their twin goals of two-way trade and investment of US$1 trillion and US$150 billion respectively by 2020 (ASEAN, External Relation, 2018). The following is the key legal document of ACFTA:

  1. ASEAN-China Framework Agreement on Comprehensive Economic Co-Operation (2002) and its Annexes
  1. ASEAN-China Trade in Goods Agreement (2004)
  1. ASEAN-China Trade in Services Agreement (2007)
  2. ASEAN-China Investment Agreement (2009)
  1. ASEAN-China Dispute Settlement Mechanism Agreement (2004)